Bafana: Percy Tau, Themba Zwane, Monnapule Saleng Selected To Face Liberia

Johannesburg – Bafana Bafana coach, Hugo Broos, on Thursday announced a squad of 23 players who will represent South Africa in crucial back-to-back 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Liberia later this month.

Broos said selected the players to fly the country’s flag high and he appealed to supporters to fill up Orlando Stadium when his charges host the Liberians in the first match between the two sides on Friday, 24 March 2023 (kick off 18h00).

“Everybody knows the importance of these games and supporters can lift you to a higher level (if the stadium is full),” the Bafana Bafana coach said after announcing his squad.

“This is what we need on the day. Let us hope that South Africans come and support us at the stadium (in great numbers).”

Broos’ charges welcome the Liberians to Orlando Stadium on Friday, 24 March and then travel by charter flight to the Liberian capital Monrovia to tackle the West Africans on 28 March 2023.

Bafana Bafana will go into the two games on the back of an unbeaten run that began last year. 

The run began in September when Broos’ charges beat Sierra Leone and Botswana in two friendlies played at FNB Stadium.

They continued their winning ways when they came back from a goal down to beat Mozambique 2-1 through a well-taken second-half brace from Bongokuhle Hlongwane in a friendly international played at the Mbombela Stadium on 17 November 2022. 

They were then held to a 1-1 draw by Angola during a friendly international also played at Mbombela Stadium on Sunday, 20 November 2022, but the result enabled the side to extend their unbeaten run to four matches in a row.

The South African senior men’s national team will go into camp in Johannesburg on Sunday, (19 March 2023).

Squad to take on Liberia:

  • 1. Ronwen Williams  GK MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 2. Veli Mothwa           GK AMAZULU FC
  • 3. Ricardo Goss        GK SUPERSPORT UNITED FC
  • 4. Sydney Mobbie     DF SEKHUKHUNE FC
  • 5. Innocent Maela     DF ORLANDO PIRATES FC
  • 6. Nkosinathi Sibisi      DF ORLANDO PIRATES FC
  • 7. Thapelo Morena       DF MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 8. Aubrey Modiba         DF MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 9. Grant Kekana           DF MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 10. Mothobi Mvala        DF MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 11. Siyanda Xulu           DF TURAN TOVUZ
  • 12. Luke le Roux           MF VARBERG BoIS FC
  • 13. Njabulo Blom          MF ST LOUIS CITY
  • 14. Sphephelo Sithole  MF BELENENSES SC
  • 15. Teboho Mokoena    MF MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 16. Monnapule Saleng  FW ORLANDO PIRATES FC
  • 17.Themba Zwane         FW MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 18. Zakhele Lepasa       FW ORLANDO PIRATES FC
  • 19. Cassius Mailula       FW MAMELODI SUNDOWNS FC
  • 20. Mihlali Mayambela   FW ARIS LIMASSOL FC
  • 21. Bongokuhle Hlongwane FW MINNESOTA
  • 22. Lyle Foster               FW BURNGLEY FC
  • 23. Percy Tau                  FW AL AHLY SC