Will Smith Smacks Chris Rock Over Jada Joke, Bags Oscar For Best Actor

Voiced by Amazon Polly

Will Smith won best actor at the Academy Awards but had to apologise for an earlier incident in which he slapped host Chris Rock for making a joke about his wife, Jada Pinkett-Smith.

The 57-year-old comedian’s joke about Jada being in “G.I. Jane” because of her bald head.

She’s spoken openly about having a hair loss condition.

NOT AN ACT: Will Smith smacks Chris Rick

Will Smith, 53, won an Oscar for his performance in King Richard, in which he portrayed Richard Williams, the father of tennis greats Venus and Serena Williams.

“In this business, you have to be able to have people disrespecting you,” Smith conceded in his acceptance speech.

Will Smith revealed that Denzel Washington spoke to him after the incident.

He said Denzel warned: “In your highest moments, be careful, that’s when the devil comes for you.”

American Jessica Chastain won the Oscar for best actress as a larger-than-life US televangelist in The Eyes of Tammy Faye

All the Oscars 2022 winners:
Best Picture



Don’t Look Up

Drive My Car


King Richard

Licorice Pizza

Nightmare Alley

The Power of the Dog

Westside story

Best Actor

Javier Bardem (Being the Ricardos)

Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog)

Andrew Garfield (Tick, Tick… Boom!)

Will Smith (King Richard) – WINNER

Denzel Washington (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye) – WINNER

Olivia Colman (The Lost Daughter)

Penélope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)

Nicole Kidman (Being the Ricardos)

Kristen Stewart (Spencer)

Best Supporting Actress

Jessie Buckley (The Lost Daughter)

Ariana DeBose (West Side Story) – WINNER

Judi Dench (Belfast)

Kirsten Dunst (The Power of the Dog)

Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Best Supporting Actor

Ciarán Hinds (Belfast)

Troy Kotsur (CODA) – WINNER

Jesse Plemons (The Power of the Dog)

J.K. Simmons (Being the Ricardos)

Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power of the Dog)

Best Director

Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)

Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)

Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog) – WINNER

Steven Spielberg (West Side Story)

Drive My Car (Ryûsuke Hamaguchi)

Original Screenplay

Belfast (Kenneth Branagh) – WINNER

Don’t Look Up (Adam McKay & David Sirota)

Licorice Pizza (Paul Thomas Anderson)

King Richard (Zach Baylin)

The Worst Person in the World (Joachim Trier & Eskil Vogt)

Adapted Screenplay

CODA (Sian Heder) – WINNER

Drive My Car (Ryusuke Hamaguchi & Takamasa Oe)

Dune (Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts & Denis Villeneuve)

The Lost Daughter (Maggie Gyllenhaal)

The Power of the Dog (Jane Campion)

Animated Feature

Encanto – WINNER



The Mitchells vs the Machines

Raya and the Last Dragon

Documentary Feature




Summer of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – WINNER

Writing with Fire

International Feature

Drive My Car (Japan) – WINNER

Flee (Denmark)

The Hand of God (Italy)

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom (Bhutan)

The Worst Person in the World (Norway)


Don’t Look Up (Hank Corwin)

Dune (Joe Walker) – WINNER

King Richard (Pamela Martin)

The Power of the Dog (Peter Sciberras)

Tick, Tick… Boom! (Myron Kerstein & Andrew Weisblum)


Dune (Greig Fraser) – WINNER

Nightmare Alley (Dan Lausten)

The Power of the Dog (Ari Wegner)

The Tragedy of Macbeth (Bruno Delbonnel)

West Side Story (Janusz Kaminski)

Original Score

Don’t Look Up (Nicholas Britell)

Dune (Hans Zimmer) – WINNER

Encanto (Germaine Franco)

Parallel Mothers (Alberto Iglesias)

The Power of the Dog (Jonny Greenwood) 

Production Design

Dune (Zsuzsanna Sipos & Patrice Vermette) – WINNER

Nightmare Alley (Tamara Deverell & Shane Vieau)

The Power of the Dog (Grant Major & Amber Richards)

The Tragedy of Macbeth (Stefan Dechant & Nancy Haigh)

West Side Story (Rena DeAngelo & Adam Stockhausen)

Costume Design

Cruella (Jenny Beavan) – WINNER

Cyrano (Massimo Cantini Parrini)

Dune (Jacqueline West)

Nightmare Alley (Luis Sequeira)

West Side Story (Paul Tazewell)

Visual Effects


Free Guy

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

No Time to Die

Spider-Man: No Way Home




No Time to Die

The Power of the Dog

West Side Story

Makeup and Hairstyling

The Eyes of Tammy Faye – WINNER

House of Gucci

Coming 2 America



Original Song

“Be Alive” (King Richard)

“Dos Oruguitas” (Encanto)

“Down to Joy” (Belfast)

“No Time to Die” (No Time to Die) – WINNER

“Somehow You Do” (Four Good Days)

Live-Action Short

Ala Kachuu – Take and Run

The Dress

The Long Goodbye – WINNER

On My Mind

Please Hold

Documentary Short


Lead Me Home

The Queen of Basketball – WINNER

Three Songs for Benazir

When We Were Bullies

Animated Short

Affairs of the Art



Robin Robin

The Windshield Wiper – WINNER