‘Power Of The Dog’ Wins BAFTA Best Film Award, Best Director

Voiced by Amazon Polly

The film “Power of the Dog” based on Thomas Savage’s 1967 novel of the same name, has won the Award for Best Film at the British Academy of Film Awards (BAFTA).

The 2021 Western psychological drama film written and directed by New Zealand filmmaker Jane Campion is also an Oscar nominee.

Campion was named best director at the 75th BAFTA Awards.

Although Hollywood star Will Smith didn’t attend the celebration at London’s Royal Albert Hall Sunday night, he and British performer Joanna Scanlan won Lead Acting trophies.

Full list BAFTA winners
Best Film

Winner: The Power Of The Dog


Don’t Look


Licorice Pizza

Outstanding British Film

Winner: Belfast

After Love

Ali & Ava

Boiling Point


Everybody’s Talking About Jamie

House Of Gucci

Last Night In Soho

No Time To Die


Leading Actress

Winner: Joanna Scanlan — After Love

Lady Gaga — House Of Gucci

Alana Haim — Licorice Pizza

Emilia Jones — Coda

Renate Reinsve — The Worst Person In The World

Tessa Thompson— Passing

Leading Actor

Winner: Will Smith — King Richard

Adeel Akhtar — Ali & Ava

Mahershala Ali — Swan Song

Benedict Cumberbatch — The Power Of The Dog

Leonardo Dicaprio — Don’t Look Up

Stephen Graham — Boiling Point

Supporting Actress

Winner: Ariana Debose — West Side Story

Caitríona Balfe — Belfast

Jessie Buckley — The Lost Daughter

Ann Dowd — Mass

Aunjanue Ellis — King Richard

Ruth Negga — Passing

Supporting Actor

Winner: Troy Kotsur — Coda

Mike Faist — West Side Story

Ciarán Hinds — Belfast

Woody Norman — C’mon C’mon

Jesse Plemons — The Power Of The Dog

Kodi Smit-Mcphee — The Power Of The Dog


Kirsty Griffin / Netflix

Winner: The Power Of The Dog — Jane Campion

After Love — Aleem Khan

Drive My Car — Ryûsuke Hamaguchi

Happening — Audrey Diwan

Licorice Pizza — Paul Thomas Anderson

Titane — Julia Ducournau

Original Screenplay

Winner: Licorice Pizza — Paul Thomas Anderson

Being The Ricardos — Aaron Sorkin

Belfast — Kenneth Branagh

Don’t Look Up — Adam Mckay

King Richard — Zach Baylin

Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Coda — Siân Heder

Drive My Car — Ryûsuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe

Dune — Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve

The Lost Daughter — Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power Of The Dog — Jane Campion

Film Not In The English Language

Winner: Drive My Car

The Hand Of God

Parallel Mothers

Petite Maman

The Worst Person In The World


Winner: Summer Of Soul

Becoming Cousteau



The Rescue

Animated Film

Winner: Encanto



The Mitchells Vs The Machines

Original Score

Winner: Dune — Hans Zimmer

Being The Ricardos — Daniel Pemberton

Don’t Look Up — Nicholas Britell

The French Dispatch — Alexandre Desplat

The Power Of The Dog — Jonny Greenwood


Winner: West Side Story

Boiling Point


The Hand Of God

King Richard


Winner: Dune


No Time To Die

The Power Of The Dog

The Tragedy Of Macbeth


Winner: No Time To Die



Licorice Pizza

Summer Of Soul

Production Design

Winner: Dune


The French Dispatch

Nightmare Alley

West Side Story

Costume Design

Winner: Cruella



The French Dispatch

Nightmare Alley

Make Up & Hair

Winner: The Eyes Of Tammy Faye




House Of Gucci


Winner: Dune

Last Night In Soho

No Time To Die

A Quiet Place Part II

West Side Story

Special Visual Effects

Winner: Dune

Free Guy

Ghostbusters: Afterlife

The Matrix Resurrections

No Time To Die

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer

Winner: The Harder They Fall — Jeymes Samuel (Writer/Director) [Also Written By Boaz Yakin]

After Love — Aleem Khan (Writer/Director)

Boiling Point — Philip Barantini, James Cummings (Writers), Hester Ruoff (Producer)

Keyboard Fantasies — Posy Dixon (Writer/Director), Liv Proctor (Producer)

Passing — Rebecca Hall (Writer/Director)

British Short Animation

Winner: Do Not Feed The Pigeons

Affairs Of The Art

Night Of The Living Dread

British Short Film

Winner: The Black Cop


The Palace


Three Meetings Of The Extraordinary Committee

Ee Rising Star Award

Winner: Lashana Lynch

Harris Dickinson

Ariana Debose

Millicent Simmonds

Kodi Smit-Mcphee