Judges Kollapen, Mathopo Appointed To Constitutional Court

Voiced by Amazon Polly

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed Judges Narandran “Jody” Kollapen and Rammaka Steven Mathopo as Judges of the Constitutional Court.

“The president wishes Justices Kollapen and Mathopo well in their new role,” said the Presidency on Friday.

The appointments from a shortlist of five are with effect from 1 January 2022.

The other judges who made it to the shortlist were Justice B Molemela, Justice F Kathree-Setiloane, and Justice B Vally.

New Constitutional Court Judges Kollapen and Mathopo have illustrious careers in the legal profession and the Judiciary.

Judge Kollapen served as a Judge of Gauteng Division from 2010 after he served as a member and later chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission.

Judge Mathopo was appointed as a Judge, also in the Gauteng Division of the High Court, in 2006 and was elevated to the Supreme Court of Appeal in 2015.

The president, as the head of the national executive, appoints the judges of the Constitutional Court after consulting the chief justice and the leaders of parties represented in the National Assembly.

“The president thanks Acting Chief Justice Zondo and leaders of parties for their invaluable inputs on all the candidates on the list submitted by the Judicial Service Commission to the president,” said the Presidency.

“All candidates on the list possess sound judicial acumen and attributes required at the highest court in the land.”