Indonesia Bans Travel From Southern Africa, Nigeria

Voiced by Amazon Polly

Indonesia, which has close relations with South Africa, is imposing a travel ban on seven Southern Africa countries and Nigeria citing fears of the new Covid-19 variant – Omnicron.

Indonesia joins many counties in the European Union, the UK, the Middle East, and Asia that have banned travel from the region after South Africa detected a new Covid-19 variant.

Indonesia and South Africa established diplomatic relations in August 1994. The South African embassy in Jakarta was established in January 1995.

Scientists in South Africa announced on Thursday that they had detected a new Covid-19 variant they first named B.1.1.529.

The UK warned the new variant was likely more transmissible.

The feared variant has since been renamed “Omicron”.

At the weekend, Indonesia’s government told The Bulrushes that it was implementing new border security measures from Monday as a precaution of new Covid-19 strains.

“Anyone who is not an Indonesian citizen who has been in South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini and Nigeria – within the past 14 days – will not be able to enter Indonesia,”

Indonesia – whose tourist attractions include the wonderful beaches of Bali, Orangutans of Borneo, Gili Islands, and the Komodo dragons, said visa applications by citizens from those countries will be temporarily suspended.

The travel restriction will apply from 29 November 2021, said the Indonesian government.