New Covid-19 Variant: UK Puts SA Back On Red List

Voiced by Amazon Polly

Spooked by the new high mutation Covid-19 variant detected in South Africa, the UK has announced a new travel ban on at least six African countries including SA.

The Uk has not yet detected the new B.1.1.529 variant that some experts have called the “worst one we’ve seen so far”.

Announcing the ban late on Thursday, UK Health Secretary Sajid Javid warned that the new variant of Covid (B.1.1.529) may be “more transmissible” than the Delta strain.

He  also said that “the vaccines that we currently have may be less effective.”

South Africa announced on Thursday that it had identified the new variant and would be meeting the WHO.

Flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, and Zimbabwe will be suspended from 12 pm on Friday, 26 November 2021.

South Africa recorded more than 2 000 fresh Covid-19 cases on Friday – more than double the numbers recorded a day earlier.