Bafana Coach Broos Names Squad To Face Ethiopia

Bafana Bafana Coach Hugo Broos on Tuesday named a 34-man preliminary squad to face Ethiopia next month in a World Cup qualifier match.

Group G leaders, South Africa will travel to East Africa to battle Ethiopia on 9 October.

The reverse fixture takes place in South Africa three days later at FNB Stadium.

The Belgian coach got his tenure as South Africa coach off to a good start after his team held neighbours Zimbabwe to a goalless draw in their opening match of the World Cup qualifiers in Harare.

The next game was an impressive home win for Bafana over favourites Ghana.

With two games against minnows Ethiopia coming up next, optimism is high to make the final qualifying round for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Ahead of next month’s encounters, Broos has announced his provisional squad that includes a number of uncapped players.

In-form Cape Town City duo Terrence Mashego and Mduduzi Mdantsane got their debut call up.

Bross has also called up Orlando Pirates star Tshegofatso Mabasa who scored his team’s winner in a 1-0 victory over Swallows.

Mabasa also scored in Pirates’ 3-1 win at Chippa United on the weekend.

Mabasa is one of the three Pirates players in the squad together with young midfielder Goodman Mosele and winger Vincent Pule.

Broos will whittle down his final 23-man squad on Saturday in an announcement that will be live on the national broadcaster SABC.

South Africa’s Provisional 34-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC) and Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows FC).

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United FC), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Terrence Mashego (Cape Town City), Sifiso Hlanti (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Vusi Sibiya (Baroka FC), Rushine De Reuk (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Thibang Phete (Belenenses SAD), Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United FC) and Tercious Malepe (AmaZulu FC)

Midfielders: Thabani Zuke (Golden Arrows FC), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Sphephelo Sithole (Belenenses FC), Yusurf Maart (Sekhukhune FC), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United FC), Goodman Mosele (Orlando Pirates FC), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy FC), Jesse Donn (SuperSport United FC)

Forwards: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United FC), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Royal Am FC), Luther Singh (F.C Copenhagen), Percy Tau (Al Ahly FC ), Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates FC), Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City FC), Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates FC).