Bavuma Thumb To Heal In Time For T20 World Cup

Temba Bavuma is injured but selectors are confident he will heal in time to lead South Africa at the upcoming T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman.

Bavuma is nursing a thumb injury he recently suffered while on tour in Sri Lanka.

In his absence, spinner Keshav Maharaj is leading the team. 

Bavuma is expected to be fit in time for the T20 World Cup scheduled to begin on 17 October. The finals of the event will take place on 14 November.

The 31-year-old batsman leads a new-look South African side that will be missing some high-profile players including the veteran duo – batsman Faf du Plessis and spinner Imran Tahir.

Former skipper Du Plessis retired from Test cricket in February this year to focus on white-ball cricket. He last played for South Africa in December 2020.

There is also no place in the Proteas squad for allrounder Chris Morris, who is a regular feature in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Commenting on the T20 World Cup squad, CSA convener of selectors, Victor Mpitsang, said: “We are confident that we have a well-balanced and well thought out World Cup squad, with reserve players that are more than capable and up to the job if called up for it. 

“The team has blossomed well under the leadership of Temba Bavuma and we look forward to seeing his return to the international stage once he is fully recovered from injury.”

Owing to their top eight position in the ICC T20I Team Rankings, South Africa qualified automatically for the Super 12 section of the event.

The Proteas will open their campaign against Australia in the first game of the Super 12 stage at the Abu Dhabi International Cricket Stadium on October 23.

South Africa, England, Australia, and the West Indies are in the same group along with two yet-to-be-determined qualifiers from Round 1.

South Africa Squad

Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Travelling reserves: Andile Phehlukwayo, George Linde, Lizaad Williams.