Zim Names SA-Based Players For Bafana Clash

Zimbabwe has named several South Africa-based players in their national football team to play Bafana Bafana in next Friday’s World Cup qualifier.

Zimbabwe’s Warriors will kick off their campaign at home when they host Bafana in Harare on 3 September, before facing Ethiopia four days later.

Although the Warriors have qualified for next year’s AFCON, they are on a bad run of form.

They only have one win in their last 12 games under Croatian Coach Zdravko Logarusic.

The Zimbabwe squad includes South Africa-based players; Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Washington Arubi (Gallants), Divine Lunga (Sundowns), Kudakwashe Mahachi, Onismor Bhasera (SuperSport), Blessing Sarupinda (Sekhukhune), Talbert Shumba (Free State Stars), Butholezwe Ncube (Amazulu) and Terrence Dzvukamanja (Orlando Pirates).

Former Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Ovidy Karuru a free agent after a stint with relegated Black Leopards last season.

Stade Reims’ Marshall Munetsi, Teenage Hadebe of Houston Dynamo, and Knowledge Musona, who recently joined Al-Tai.

These players are well known in South Africa after stints with Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs.

Zimbabwe is, however, sweating over the availability of some key players based in England.

Aston Villa midfielder Marvelous Nakamba is one of the seven England-based players named in the Warriors’ squad.

However, English clubs are discouraging players from travelling to Covid-19 “red-list” countries.

Zimbabwe ‘Warriors’ Squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Washington Arubi (Marumo Gallants, SA) Talbert Shumba (Free State Stars), Martin Mapisa (Zamora CF)

DEFENDERS: Teenage Hadebe (Houston Dynamo) Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle) Onismor Bhasera (SuperSport United) Jordan Zemura (AFC Bournemouth) Divine Lunga (Mamelodi Sundowns) Tendayi Darikwa (Wigan Athletic) Takudzwa Chimwemwe (Nkana) Jimmy Dzingai (Unattached) Alec Mudimu (Torpedo Kutaisi)

MIDFIELDERS: Blessing Sarupinda (Sekhukhune United) Jonah Fabisch (Hamburger SV) Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims) Marvelous Nakamba (Aston Villa) Tafadzwa Rusike, Thabani Kamusoko (Zesco United) Kudakwashe Mahachi (SuperSport United) Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs) Perfect Chikwende (Simba SC) Butholezwe Ncube (Amazulu) Ovidy Karuru (Unattached)

STRIKERS: Terrence Dzvukamanja (Orlando Pirates) Tinotenda Kadewere (Lyon) David Moyo (Hamilton Academical) Admiral Muskwe (Luton Town) Knowledge Musona (Al-Tai) Macauley Bonne (Ipswich Town)