Bafana Coach Broos Says Tau Headed For Al Ahly

Bafana Bafana Coach Hugo Broos has claimed that South Africa forward Percy Tau will leave English Premier League side Brighton & Hove Albion for Al Ahly of Egypt.

The Belgian coach let slip that Tau will join the Egypt club after naming his final 23-man squad for the 2022 Qatar World Cup qualifiers on Tuesday.

Tau has been linked with a move to Egypt and his absence from the Brighton squad in the last two Premier League matches has fuelled reports he was headed to Egypt.

The Bafana Bafana tactician has now confirmed the former Mamelodi Sundowns player will soon reunite with Pitso Mosimane at the African champions, Al Ahly.

“He is an important player for Bafana Bafana,” Broos said on SABC Sport. 

“But again, if Percy does not play in the next months, I have a problem.

“But I heard some good news, I think he will not stay in Brighton and he will go to the Egyptian team with the South African coach Pitso, Al Ahly.

“I think in the next days it will be done and then he will have a chance to play, so there will be a problem less for the future.”

Tau has missed Brighton’s two opening matches against Burnley which they won 2-1 and the 2-0 victory against Watford. 

He was also not in the squad for the EFL Cup tie against Cardiff further fuelling speculation on his imminent exit.

Meanwhile Broos has backed Tau despite his lack of competitive match fitness after naming him in his final 23-man squad to face Zimbabwe and Ghana early next month in the first two rounds of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers.

Last week the 69-year-old coach initially revealed a preliminary 31-man squad.

The squad has now been reduced to the final 23 players who will take to Zimbabwe in Harare on September 3 before hosting Ghaha at FNB Stadium three days later.

Bafana Bafana Squad

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thibang Phete (Belenenses FC, Portugal), Thabani Dube (Kaizer Chiefs), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Kaizer Chiefs)

Midfielders: Sipho Mbule (Supersport United), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune FC), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United), Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtics), Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England), Luther Singh (F.C Copenhagen, Denmark).