‘It Wasn’t Me,’ Says Carl Niehaus As Cops Circle

Self-proclaimed Jacob Zuma supporter Carl Niehaus on Friday found his voice, amid pressure for the arrest of the 12 identified instigators, to deny any part in the week-long unrest and looting.

Niehaus, who was suspended from the ANC, issued a statement denying any involvement in the violence that has caused destruction estimated at more than 50 billion rand.

Authorities have indicated that 12 people suspected of being behind the unrest have been identified and at least one of them has been arrested.

Although acting Minister in the Presidency, Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, has refused to release names of the suspected instigators, she said the police were about to make arrests.

Police are thought to be homing in on those behind the #FreeZuma campaign.

Feeling the pressure Niehaus said: “We further note that there are opportunistic attempts to try and hold those of us who have issued these genuine warnings responsible for the violence.

“This is dishonesty of the worst kind … we have never called for lawlessness and violence.”

“We take note of the fact that there are many criminal opportunists who have ridden at the back of the genuine protest against the injustice meted out at president Zuma for their ill-gain.”  

The statement attributed a group of people from various provinces demands, among other things, that, “president Zuma must be released forthwith, and all the legal targeting and persecution that he has endured (including the sham of an ‘arms deal case’) must stop forthwith”.

The EFF is also against Zuma’s incarceration, which they describe as “irrational”.

The statement was issued by: Carl Niehaus (KZN & Gauteng), Andile Lungisa (Eastern Cape), Nkosentsha Shezi (KZN), Phapano Phasha (Gauteng), Shirley Willemse (KZN), Londi Shezi (KZN), Pascaline Nqobile Mazibuko (Mpumalanga), Tshepiso Mishack Boksraal (Limpopo), Boipelo Jarvis (Northern Cape), Olebogeng Leserwane (Northern Cape), Castro Setlhogomi (Northern Cape), Lufuno Gogoro (Gauteng), Gundo Munyai (Gauteng), Brian Tloubatla (Gauteng), Lopang Rothman (North West), Banele Nkosi (Mpumalanga), and Thembinkosi Mgidi (Eastern Cape).